Pauses and Spaces.

 

 

 

 

I really like to think (and believe) that my blog flows smoothly and gracefully – that one entry rides into the next, that my big ideas and funny stories shine off of your screen, and that my characteristically youthful optimism and heart fancies soar paramount above it all.  But let’s face it.  I’ve said it too many times: life gets busy.  You – or atleast I – forget to reflect, record and write about everything that made you smile, ticked you off, and meant so much to you (plus, I’m nineteen and unedu-macated, so it is a very wild and blindly daring hope to think that my writing could so impress).

About two months have flown by and it feels like a week.  During that space of time,

a lot has transpired.

 

  • I threw a birthday party.  Not my own — it was for my husband, and it was a surprise birthday party.  I did all of the planning, bought all of the food, brought all of the games, chose the time and place, secretly informed (through texts and emails) all of our friends, baked the cake Friday morning before work, iced it at church on Sabbath morning.. and he was tricked into stopping by that evening thanks to the help of our associate pastor, Zeke, and friends TJ and Kirstan.  It was perfectly orchestrated, perfectly coordinated, and a great success.  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to pull it off again.. because now, he knows that I’m an excellent liar (when I NEED to be, in situations such as this, where the truth comes out later — it isn’t sin, it’s time-sensitive information that I delay in providing). 

 

  • I attended a wedding.  It was June 19th and my husband was in the bridal party.  I got to wear a cute, black and red dress, spend leisure time with friends, munch on an assortment of fruits and cheeses and cry alittle when the vows were exchanged and the “first” kiss bestowed.  It reminded me of my own wedding a year ago.  So much has changed!  The excitement has faded – ever so daintily – into a warm embrace.. the newness has worn itself into a comfy familiarity.  I love being married to my best friend, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching such happiness dawn itself upon my two young friends (I also enjoyed taking pictures of everybody and everything).

 

  • Chris and I, along with Bruster, drove down to Florida in my little blue Neon for a 3 day visit with my entire family.  It was a bright Saturday morning in June when we started off (that’s a cute little lie; we left at four in the morning when it was dark and black and I was sleepy).  The ride was pleasant and time went quickly with but few moments frittered away, save for potty stops, Bruster walks and gas re-fills.  My aunt, uncle and cousin flew down from New Jersey that afternoon and as both my parents and grandparents live within thirty minutes of eachother in the state of Florida, the reunion was complete.  We spent happy, fleeting moments together – at the beach, at the bowling alley, on the tennis court, in the livingroom, and at the local Sweet Tomatoes soup and salad bar.  Every hour was a gift; every second, a sacred treasure.

 

  • We financed a car.  Earlier this month.  Our first ever.  See — Chris’s old 1940’s Grand Cherokee Jeep was completely falling apartLiterally.  The back bumper was dented in, the rear tail-light was masked with red tape (to prevent getting ticketed), the transmission was on the verge of giving out on a DAILY basis and, minutely – this is more cosmetic than anything else I’ve mentioned, although I can promise it wasn’t comfortable for him – the front seats were ripped and torn as if a baby dinosaur with razor sharp teeth had decided to try consuming them.  So it was clearly time to move on to better things.  After looking around, Chris set his heart on a 2005 Saturn Vue: 67,000 miles, clean interior, new tires, ex-car of an “elderly couple” (evidenced by the built-in grocery holder in the general trunk area), oil just changed — asking price: 11,200.00.   “No.”  “No?  ROSE, we won’t find another deal like this!”  “I’m not saying you can’t have it.. I’m just saying we’re not offering to pay the full asking price.”  Silly boy.  So we haggled alittle – I wore the saddest, most heart-broken expression I could create – and we talked the dealer down a good bit:  10,400.00 out the door.  That included taxes.. title.. administrative fee.. all of that.  The car is now registered and Chris delivers his Panera breakfast and lunch orders safely and in style.

 

  • We’re going to school.  Both of us.  FINALLY.  We have received Pell Grants that would cover full-time enrollment during this next academic year.  We will, however, be using only half of it:  after much consideration, we are simply unable to balance working 40-hour weeks with raising a puppy and taking 4-6 classes (plus the necessary house-cleaning, grocery shopping and social life).  So we’ve decided that we will each take two classes – the exact same classes at the exact same time – together.   We have enrolled in Math 100 and English 101, and we start August 18th.  Mondays and Wednesdays, from 6:30 pm – 9:15 pm,  we’ll be sitting in uncomfortable, antique yellow-colored, paint-chipped college desks.. together.. pursuing better futures, and maintaining a manageable, balanced present.

 

  • We’re neutering Bruster.  He’s terribly upset about it, horribly depressed, but we’ve assured him that it’s the right thing to do, entirely necessary, and that it won’t hurt a bit.  His surgery is this Friday – the 29th – and we will be boarding him through Monday (due to the delicate nature of this particular surgery – for Bruster, with his congenital condition, it will be invasive – I want him to be under the direct supervision of professionals during the most intense, crucial period for healing).  Also, Chris and I are going somewhere.

 

  • We’re celebrating our 1 year anniversary this weekend by driving to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, and we’ll be staying until Monday.  We’re heading out this Friday evening, as soon as I get off work, and I can assure you that we are both eagerly anticipating the “time-out.”  Life gets busy.. you forget about the things and the people that matter.  Three days of pure relaxation, blessed by eachother’s company, will be a breath of fresh air.  We plan on hiking in the Smokey Mountains, ice skating, ziplining over the city (suspended by man-made rope and cords), cooling down at a water park (and with a daily average heat index of 105F, I’m ready for it), eating chocolate chip (and otherwise flavored) pancakes, and I want to take a nice, hot bubble bath.  Can you believe that I’ve never had one in my life?

(I’m not saying I’ve never showered.. don’t misquote, misinterpret or mis- “eww!”)

 

 

 

And she said “Goodbye, my dear, the roads are far from here

Like the time that we’ve wasted and the lines on these pages

And goodbye, my dear, my battered heart is still here

You’re the art, that is plastic

You’re the change, that is drastic

You’re the art, that is plastic

you’re the art

that is plastic.”

Aun Aqui

 

 

 

The sweet things my husband does for me

(that I always want to remember)

 

Monday: he baked chocolate chip cookies – my favorite – when he got home from work and we enjoyed them together on my lunch break.

Thursday:  he picked up a grocery item that I had requested from the store and along with it surprised me with a slice of key lime pie.  I love him.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Pauses and Spaces.

  1. I always love reading these. You are a great story-teller. I had to try and not laugh (I’m at work reading this) when you mentioned how Chris’ old Jeep seats looked haha

    Have fun on your trip and eat at Pancake Pantry EVERY morning! (Also always say YES to the fresh fruit cups, you will not be disappointed.)

Leave a Reply

