NaNoWriMo — let’s do it again!

I am absolutely going to cheat, but I have never been so excited about it and proud of it.  I signed up for the NaNoWriMo “novel in a month” writing endeavor last November; I got up to about 10,000 words and stopped.  I mumbled words of explanation, like “work,” “school” and “busy,” but truthfully, I just lost  interest in it and could tell that my writing was getting weak and not personal.  This November, I am signing up for NaNoWriMo — again.  My goal this year: to pick up where I left off last year, reach the 50,000 word mark, and officially complete my personal memoir (with a little fabrication, some slight exaggeration and a few name changes).

And all of this wonderful resolve and determination hit me this morning. This morning! My husband called me from work, excited, talking quickly into my ear.  “It just hit me, Rose!” he began. “It didn’t work last year because it was something big and daunting and you felt like you were doing it alone.  I did the math, and if you can write just 1,667 words a day, for thirty days straight, you will hit 50,000 words! I feel like writing the novel in smaller increments might seem less intimidating to you.” He paused.  I was silent.  “So my idea,” he continued, “is this: write a blog post every day, each one consisting of 1,667 words, in a way so that when all of them are pieced together, it reads like a storyThat’s your novel.  And at the end, just put it all together and submit it! You can do this!  And because you’ll be uploading your updates, you’ll feel less alone.. people will be keeping tabs on you.. you’ll have support. It will be better this way.  Every day, you’ll have the satisfaction of having made progress.. it will motivate you.”  He stopped to catch his breath.  “I really think you should try again this year.”

His plan was rather convincing.. and his idea was, of course, for me to write something completely new — he had captured the spirit of NaNoWriMo, which is to just grab an idea, a story, a collection of characters and places and events out of the air and “let the words flow..”

While I’m not necessarily sold on trying that again, his enthusiasm and faith in me kindled a desire to finish something that I had started and forgotten about.  

I’m very intent on seeing this novel “the whole way through” this time, and I’ll be uploading my progress in (roughly) 1700 word-count increments once a day, every day, from today until the 30th of this month.. November.

 

Criticism and feedback are both welcome and appreciated!

 

Typing away!

Aun Aqui

Leave a Reply

