Sometimes, People Surprise Me

3 thoughts on “Sometimes, People Surprise Me

  1. This is a wonderful post. You’re right: We treat strangers with suspicion because we don’t know them, and that causes us to pull away even more. I wish I could always keep in mind that everyone who is my friend today was, at one time, a stranger.

    1. I love the way you put it at the end there, friend. That thought had never actually occurred to me before: everyone who is my friend today was, at one time, a stranger. How true!

      Thank you for taking the time to read my entry, AND for sharing your thought/ perspective on it. 🙂 I hope you’re having a great week so far!

      Rose

  2. The first time that I went to Aruba, in middle school, the natives and the tourists made a huge impact on me. Everyone was friendly. I learned quickly why Aruba’s motto was/is ‘One Happy Island.’

    When vacation was over, I brought home some of the Aruban atmosphere with me.

    I remember the first time that I said “Hi” to a couple, who were complete strangers. lol. I could over hear them saying, “Did she just say ‘hi’ to us?”

    When I moved to Florida, I experienced ‘Southern Hospitality’. I remember calling my parents at home just to tell them that the people in FL are so much more friendlier because the cashier and bagger talked to me, and the toll booth person on the way to and from grandma and grandpa’s didn’t just stick out their hand, making no contact, but actually looked at me smiled and asked me how I was doing.

    My parents weren’t really happy with my finding. But it’s true! Recently, when my parents came to visit here in TN, we went to a dinner show, and the waiter was so friendly, it annoyed the tar out of my parents. I, however, got it and thought the waiter was wonderful.

    Up north it’s worse. Everyone is in a rush and has a ‘me first’ attitude.

Leave a Reply

